French Onion Slowcooker Soup

Guess I’m just in a soup mood these days!  Cold weather does that to me. Soups are a great way to get a nutritional punch into your diet. Onions themselves are full of an antioxidant that help your body make vitamin E – a regenerative vitamin that helps skin keep it’s elasticity. A good thing for a pregnant woman, no?

Ingredients
6 large onions
3 TBSP olive oil
1 3/4 cup Chicken Broth
1 1/2 cup Beef Broth
2 TBSP Red Wine
4 -6 slices French Bread
Grated Cheese of your choice

Peel and slice onions. Put in slow cooker with olive oil and cook 8 hours on high.

Add broth broths (substituting both for veggie broth if you like) and wine. Cook on high another 15 – 30 minutes. At the same time preheat your oven to 400 degrees. Put bread slices on a baking sheet, drizzle with olive oil and bake until golden – about 10 minutes.

Put soup in oven proof bowls and put on baking sheet. Top full bowls with bread and cover with cheese. Put under the broiler for 1 to 2 minutes.

4 Comments to “French Onion Slowcooker Soup”

  1. I love french onion soup but I have never made it from scratch. This sounds delish. Question: After the onions are cooked could they be frozen for later use? Would you add/cook the broth and then freeze?

    • I would add the broth and then freeze – the flavour in the soup comes from all the little browned bits of onion and if you were to just scrape them up and freeze them I’m sure you would leave behind a lot of that flavour in the pot. I’ve never frozen it myself, it always smells too good when it’s done! I don’t have the will power!

  2. oh and one other question (can you tell I am excited, this is my DH and my favourite soup but we rarely have it because the store bought ones are soooooo high in sodium). Do you use regular cooking onions, or the large Vidalia type?

  3. I’ve used both and it turns out great! I actually like using a mix of cooking onions and a large type like Vidalia. If you plan to only use large onions I would increase the olive oil by a TBSP and the cooking time by another hour or so – there is a LOT more onion when you use only the big ones instead of cooking onions!

Leave a Reply

